This is the documentation for CDH 5.1.x.
Documentation for other versions is available at Cloudera Documentation.

Upgrading Oozie

Follow these instructions to upgrade Oozie to CDH 5 from RPM or Debian Packages.

Upgrading Oozie from CDH 4 to CDH 5

Before you start:

Make sure there are no workflows in RUNNING or SUSPENDED status; otherwise the database upgrade will fail and you will have to reinstall Oozie CDH 4 to complete or kill those running workflows.

To upgrade Oozie from CDH 4 to CDH 5, back up the configuration files and database, uninstall the CDH 4 version and then install and configure the CDH 5 version. Proceed as follows.

  Note:

If you have already performed the steps to uninstall CDH 4 and all components, as described under Upgrading from CDH 4 to CDH 5, you can skip Step 1 below and proceed with installing the new CDH 5 version of Oozie.

  Important: Ubuntu and Debian upgrades

When you uninstall CDH 4 Oozie on Ubuntu and Debian systems, the contents of /var/lib/oozie are removed, leaving a bare directory. This can cause the Oozie upgrade to CDH 5 to fail. To prevent this, either copy the database files to another location and restore them after the uninstall, or recreate them after the uninstall. Make sure you do this before starting the re-install.

Step 1: Remove Oozie

  1. Back up the Oozie configuration files in /etc/oozie and the Oozie database. For convenience you may want to save Oozie configuration files in your home directory; you will need them after installing the new version of Oozie.
  2. Stop the Oozie Server.
    To stop the Oozie Server:
    sudo service oozie stop
  3. Uninstall Oozie.

    To uninstall Oozie, run the appropriate command on each host:

    • On Red Hat-compatible systems:
      $ sudo yum remove oozie 
      $ sudo yum remove oozie-client 
    • On SLES systems:
      $ sudo zypper remove  oozie
      $ sudo zypper remove oozie-client 
    • On Ubuntu or Debian systems:
      sudo apt-get remove oozie 
      sudo apt-get remove oozie-client 

Step 2: Install Oozie

Follow the procedure under Installing Oozie and then proceed to Configuring Oozie after Upgrading from CDH 4. For packaging information, see Oozie Packaging.

  Important: Configuration files
  • If you install a newer version of a package that is already on the system, configuration files that you have modified will remain intact.
  • If you uninstall a package, the package manager renames any configuration files you have modified from <file> to <file>.rpmsave. If you then re-install the package (probably to install a new version) the package manager creates a new <file> with applicable defaults. You are responsible for applying any changes captured in the original configuration file to the new configuration file. In the case of Ubuntu and Debian upgrades, you will be prompted if you have made changes to a file for which there is a new version; for details, see Automatic handling of configuration files by dpkg.

Upgrading Oozie from an Earlier CDH 5 Release

Before you start:

Make sure there are no workflows in RUNNING or SUSPENDED status; otherwise the database upgrade will fail and you will have to reinstall Oozie CDH 4 to complete or kill those running workflows.

The steps that follow assume you are upgrading Oozie as part of an overall upgrade to the latest CDH 5 release and have already performed the steps under Upgrading from a CDH 5 Beta Release to the Latest Version .

To upgrade Oozie to the latest CDH 5 release, proceed as follows.

Step 1: Back Up the Configuration

Back up the Oozie configuration files in /etc/oozie and the Oozie database.

For convenience you may want to save Oozie configuration files in your home directory; you will need them after installing the new version of Oozie.

Step 2: Stop the Oozie Server.

To stop the Oozie Server:

sudo service oozie stop

Step 3: Install Oozie

Follow the procedure under Installing Oozie and then proceed to Configuring Oozie after Upgrading from an Earlier CDH 5 Release.

  Important: Configuration files
  • If you install a newer version of a package that is already on the system, configuration files that you have modified will remain intact.
  • If you uninstall a package, the package manager renames any configuration files you have modified from <file> to <file>.rpmsave. If you then re-install the package (probably to install a new version) the package manager creates a new <file> with applicable defaults. You are responsible for applying any changes captured in the original configuration file to the new configuration file. In the case of Ubuntu and Debian upgrades, you will be prompted if you have made changes to a file for which there is a new version; for details, see Automatic handling of configuration files by dpkg.