Altus Data Warehouse Clusters

You can use the Cloudera Altus console or the command-line interface to create and manage Data Warehouse clusters. The Data Warehouse service provisions clusters with the Impala service for SQL queries on data stored in Amazon S3. Data stored in Amazon S3 remains available when the cluster is terminated. Data stored in HDFS in the cluster disappears when the cluster is terminated.

The Data Warehouse service creates a cluster that contains a coordinator node and multiple worker nodes. Altus also creates a Cloudera Manager instance to manage and provide visibility into the cluster.

Altus creates a read-only user account to connect to the Cloudera Manager instance. When you create a cluster on the Altus console, specify the user name and password for the read-only user account. Use the user name and password to log in to Cloudera Manager. When you create a cluster using the CLI and you do not specify a user name and password, the Data Warehouse service creates a guest user account with a randomly generated password. You can use the guest user name and password to log in to Cloudera Manager.

When you create a Data Warehouse cluster using an Altus environment with the secure clusters option turned on, Altus generates a user ID and password for the cluster. Altus users who connect to the cluster from a client tool must use the credentials to be allowed access to the cluster.

To create a Data Warehouse cluster in Altus, you must have the DatawareUser role and an environment assigned to you.

Cluster Status

A cluster periodically changes status from the time that you create it until the time it is terminated.

An Altus cluster can have the following statuses:
  • Creating. The cluster creation process is in progress.
  • Created. The cluster was successfully created.
  • Failed. The cluster can be in a failed state at creation or at termination time. View the failure message to get more information about the failure.
  • Terminating. The cluster is in the process of being terminated.

    When the cluster is terminated, it is removed from the list of clusters displayed in the Clusters page on the console. It is also not included in the list of clusters displayed when you run the list-clusters command.